Sprint Tourney, Sunday 3/7/10

Posted: May 18, 2010 in Uncategorized

From March 8, 2010

Roy Johnson and I went down to Hellyer for the first sprint tournament of the year. We had a good time and learned a bit about sprinting. The day started with a warmup that was pretty uneventful until after I put my race gear (48×14) on and went back out for a couple of jumps. The first jump was fine and as we were about 3 min. from the flying 200m qualifiers, Roy and I decided to do one more jump and head off the track. As I approached the 200m line, I took my first pedal stroke, something slipped, banged, clanged, squealed, etc… I obviously stopped my effort to check out what happened. Roy said that something had fallen off my bike, so I cruised back into the pit area to find that the inner knurled nut on the driveside of my wheel had exploded under the force of my acceleration. Fortunately I was able to borrow a wheel from George Crawford and was able to compete.

My flying 200m time was 13.61, which was 3 tenths faster than the last time I was timed. Roy clocked in with a slightly slower 13.66. Clearly, I was faster due to better beard aerodynamics. These times were good for the 17th and 18th seeds (out of 31) respectively. The tourney was a round robin format. The riders were split up into 4 groups of 6 and 1 group of 7. Unfortunately this meant that Roy and I were the 2 slowest riders in group 3, the fastest rider having clocked a 13.27s 200m.

I raced two 2 ups (head to head) and two 3 ups (1 v. 2) at 2 laps each. The good news is I finished no worse than 3rd in any of my races; the bad news is I finished no better than 2nd in all them as well. The first couple of races (2 up and 3 up), against the # 1 and #2 seeds in our group, I went from the back, jumped around turn 1 on the last lap (the wind was blowing down the front stretch), and got passed in turns 3 and 4. The last 2 races, I went from the front. As it turns out, there are at least 2 sprints in a sprint and sometimes more. Unfortunately, I didn’t have the 3rd sprint that I needed in the 3rd race and the 3rd seed beet me by a ½ wheel. In the 4th race, Roy and I tried to use teamwork to box our opponent in behind us. Our timing was just a little off as Roy and I got side by side a bit too early and our opponent was able to pass us on the outside on the back strait. I held off Roy to the line for 2nd. All told it was a fun afternoon, though it being my first sprint tournament, I would have preferred to be the fastest rider in the group. I guess I’ll just have to work on getting my a double s moving a bit faster. Results are posted at:

http://www.ncvasprints.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

